Special functions and orthogonal polynomials

Workshop C5 at FoCM'14

December 18-20, 2014
Montevideo, Uruguay


Peter A. Clarkson
University of Kent, United Kingdom

Kerstin Jordaan
University Of Pretoria, South Africa

Francisco Marcellán
Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain

The workshop is part of the triennial FoCM conference series, organised by the Society for Foundations of Computational Mathematics
hosted by the Universidad de la República in Montevideo, December 11-20, 2014.

This workshop focuses both on basic research and computational aspects of orthogonal polynomials and special functions, as well as on the application of this subject in other parts of mathematics and general science. A partial list of topics is: linear and nonlinear special functions; algebraic and analytic theory of special functions and orthogonal polynomials; connections with integrable systems; Painlevé equations; asymptotic methods; computational and numerical methods; approximation theory; random matrix theory; potential theory.


Confirmed participants:

Semi-plenary speaker (50 minutes)

Natig M. Atakishiyev, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Cuernavaca, México: natig_atakishiyev@hotmail.com

Peter Clarkson, University of Kent, United Kingdom: P.A.Clarkson@kent.ac.uk

Semi-classical orthogonal polynomials and the Painlevé equations

Invited speakers (30 minutes)

Primitivo Acosta-Humánez, Universidad del Atlantico, Colombia: primi@intelectual.co

Laurent Baratchart, Sophia Antipolis, INRIA, France: Laurent.Baratchart@inria.fr

Orthogonal rational functions and non-stationary stochastic processes

Cleonice Bracciali, Universidade Estadual Paulista, Brazil: cleonice@ibilce.unesp.br

Mirta Castro, Universidad de Sevilla, Spain: mirta@us.es

Antonio J. Durán, Universidad de Sevilla, Spain: duran@us.es

Extending Askey tableau by the inclusion of Krall and exceptional polynomials

Luis Garza, Universidad de Colima, Mexico: garzaleg@gmail.com

Arieh Iserles,  Cambridge University, United Kingdom: ai10@cam.ac.uk

Kissing polynomials

Dmitrii Karp, Far Eastern Federal University, Russian Federation: dimkrp@gmail.com

G-function of Meijer and generalized hypergeometric function: interplay of new facts

Ana Filipa Loureiro, University of Kent, United Kingdom: A.Loureiro@kent.ac.uk

Orthogonal polynomials and integral transforms

Sarah Post, University of Hawaii, USA: spost@hawaii.edu

Alagacone Sri Ranga, Universidades Estadual Paulista, Brazil: ranga@ibilce.unesp.br

Walter Van Assche, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium: Walter.VanAssche@wis.kuleuven.be

Multiple orthogonal polynomials associated with an exponential cubic weight

Jan Filipe van Diejen, Pontificia Universidad Católica, Chile: diejen@inst-mat.utalca.cl

Luis Verde Star, Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana, Mexico: verde@xanum.uam.mx

Applications of infinite matrices in the theories of orthogonal polynomials and operational calculus

Luc Vinet, Université de Montreal, Canada: luc.vinet@umontreal.ca

A q-generalization of the Bannai-Ito polynomials and the quantum superalgebra ospq(1j2)

Maxim L. Yattselev, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, USA: maxyatts@math.iupui.edu

Strong Asymptotics of Hermite-Pad_e Approximants for Angelesco Systems with Complex Weights

Schedule and Abstracts

Related plenary talk Andrei Martínez-Finkelshtein

Related workshops of FoCM'14: Random Matrices, Approximation Theory